Newlife the Charity for Disabled Children held an award ceremony on Thursday (February 9), - in celebration of the volunteers who have supported Newlife over the years.

Guests enjoyed a three course meal along with a presentation of the charity's 25th anniversary Impact Report. Newlife has volunteering opportunities at its three retail stores in Cannock, as well as stores in Market Drayton and Uttoxeter in Staffordshire and Heanor in Derbyshire. Roles are flexible and volunteers can offer between two and six hours per session at times which suit them.

National Volunteer Manager, Kevin Lowe, arranged the awards and Sheila Brown OBE, CEO and members of the Trustee board presented awards in two categories.

The 1000 Hours Club was created to celebrate the growing number of volunteers who have racked up some impressive hours by giving their time to support Newlife. And the Special Celebration Award recognises volunteers who have gone above and beyond the call of duty for the charity over the last 12 months.

Kevin Lowe said: "It was such a wonderful night and we were humbled to be able to show our volunteers just a little of how much they mean to us and what a difference they make to the lives of very special children."

Volunteering tasks range from repairing jewellery to de-labelling clothing donated by High Street retail donors. By volunteering, people can gain new skills, meet new people and help disabled and terminally ill children get the equipment support they urgently need.

Kevin said: "Whether you're retired or have a few extra hours a week, volunteering is something we value at Newlife. The sense of knowing that what they are doing will change a child's life, is something that all our volunteers can be proud of."

If you are interested in volunteering your time at Newlife Charity contact Kevin Lowe - tel no 01543 439 927 or email klowe@newlifecharity.co.uk.

The 1000 Hours Award winners are:

Richard Fowler
Fred Howlett
Josie Grimley
Angela Pearce
Peter Evans
Jill Austin
Valerie Beale
Eileen Brindley
Jill Evans

The Special Celebration Award winners are:

Lee Norman
Elly Hance and Rosemary Skinner
Clare Saunders
Diane Rochelle, Trish Meacham and Sue Tunnicliffe
Sue Robinson


Web: http://www.newlifecharity.co.uk 

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/newlifecharity 
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/newlifethecharity/ 
YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/c/newlifethecharity 
Instagram: http://www.instagram.com/Newlifethecharity


Posted, Feb : 2017


You may make donations using a Credit / Debit card or by Direct Debit. Click on the button to donate now.

Click to Donate